Adding GPS Module to Meshtastic

Hi, I’m new to rak and meshtastic.

I purchased the meshtastic starter kit that comes with a RAK19007 and RAK4631. I downloaded the firmware and used the drag-and-drop method to flash it onto the board. It flashed well and I am able to have two board communicate with each other using the meshtastic app.

What I don’t understand is how to get the gps module (RAK12500) to work. Do I just connect it and it has to work or do I need to flash something else? When I connect it I don’t see any data in the meshtastic app.

I also tried using the arduino IDE to flash for the RAK12500 using the example code in the IDE and was able to get the gps readings on the serial monitor but it seems like it overwrites the flashed meshtastic firmware? Seems like I’m missing some steps.

I’m using Arduino IDE on Windows

Welcome to the forum @cyberjet

Meshtastic firmware should support the RAK12500 automatically.
Flash the “standard” Meshtastic firmware and check the output on USB. It will tell you whether it found the GNSS module or not.

I also have a RAK12500 connected to RAK19007 and RAK4631 but have no idea how to set it up. Under “Position Config” the app asks for GPS Receive GPIO, GPS Transmit GPIO & GPS EN GPIO.
What are these and what should I select? All three drop down boxes show pin 1 to 48.

If you are using the standard Meshtastic firmware you do not have to do anything.

Put RAK12500 into Slot A or Slot D and it is detected.

Log from my RAK4631 with Meshtastic default firmware:
(1) Startup

(2) Search and setup of GPS

It does work with the module in Slot A or Slot D and you using the default firmware for the RAK4631 from Meshtastic Downloads

Thanks Bernd.
At least I know I don’t have to set GPIO pins.

Just another quick question: -

How do you monitor USB on the PC from the RAK4631? Which app do you use?

Any Serial Terminal app will do.