Can the RAK2287 USB Version be reconfigured to be SPI version instead?

Issue: Lab staff ordered the USB version of the RAK2287 instead of SPI version.

Setup: Raspberry Pi 4B + RAK5146/RAK2287

Server: N/A

Details: I am an IoT developer working for a wireless systems lab that must procure all material through “proper channels”. I put an order request for a RAK2287 SPI w/GPS, but instead the materials manager ordered the USB version without the mini PCIe to USB connector. My question is, since I do have the RAK5146 Pi Hat, am I able to use the RAK2287 USB version at all, or were the SPI lines not even routed in the USB version, rendering the module I possess completely useless without the PCIe-USB converter? I have installed the RAK2287 onto the RAK5146 Pi Hat, and subsequently onto the RasPi, however, after installing the firmware the LoRa Concentrator does not power up. To emphasize how I know I received the USB version, both the actual module and the plastic packaging say “RAK2287 USB w/GPS”. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

The RAK2287 is a LoRaWAN concentrator module manufactured by RAK Wireless. The USB version of the RAK2287 is designed to connect directly to a USB port and communicate with the host device using USB protocol.

On the other hand, the SPI (Serial Peripheral Interface) version of the RAK2287 is designed to interface with a host device using the SPI protocol, which is a different communication protocol war robots mod apk compared to USB.

Hi Anderson,