Custom Lipo-LiFePO4 RAK3172 node

Hi all,

this is to share our latest batch of custom boards.
As we test it further we’ll share our progress.
Cheers!

5 Likes

Hello @pico

Nice project. Thanks for sharing!

Just curious, did you need an additional super-cap to backup the battery during consumption peaks?
I have no experience with this battery type.

Hi @beegee,

After some empirical tests with official rak boards and the custom design, I suspect there is no need for a supercar. I also monitored the 3V3 rail with an oscilloscope and I haven’t noticed alarming drops in voltage to the module.
Do you have further suggestions on how to test for this possible requirement?

Very nice and thanks for the share :slight_smile: Do you plan to offer boards for sales later ? what are the specs of the board ?

Hi @pico

What LoRaWAN regions did you check. I guess worst scenario for sudden power consumption when transmitting is US915 and set to max TX power of 22dB.

Hi Vincen,

Currently, there is no such a plan, it is only for our custom needs, though things might change.

These are some specs of the board:

• dual chemistry solar charger (solder jumper)
  • 18650 cell clips or SH battery connector
  • buck-boost converter with power-good on PA9
  • protected GPIOs
  • 2x interrupts/IO
  • 2x ADC channels up to 16-bit
  • 2x UARTs
  • TC2030-style serial wire debug (SWD)
  • 4 mounting holes and small footprint (69 x 38 mm)

I have tested it for EU868, so far so good :+1:

Thanks for the share and yep quite interesting as your board looks very well designed and built, love quality it shows up on your pictures. I guess it would be an all win situation if you sell also the board by itself for geeks interested so long your customer is ok with it :wink:

1 Like

Great share to the community @pico . This neat work deserves some hearts :purple_heart: