ERROR: Packet REJECTED, unsupported RF power for TX - 17

Issue: Downlink “txpk”-type packets not delivered

Setup: RAK2245 PiHat on a Pi-3B+ running Buster, ttn-gateway

Server:Pi-3B+

Details:
I’ve been monitoring traffic through my RAK2245 gateway while trying to get the GPS working. I noticed the following sequence. Seems like an error in the lora_pkt_fwd code in which the transmit power setting for "powe" to a value of 17 isn’t accepted. I haven’t got my remote sensor node (a SAMD21) connected via USB right now so can’t see if it got a packet or not, but it seems like it wouldn’t have. The error is reported in about line 2591 of packet_forwarder/lora_pkt_fwd/src/lora_pkt_fwd.c, but I’m not experienced enough to know if that’s a problem in the c code or in the lut definitions in which there are no lut entries with a power of 17.

JSON up: {“stat”:{“time”:“2020-03-19 09:31:11 GMT”,“rxnb”:0,“rxok”:0,“rxfw”:0,“ackr”:0.0,“dwnb”:0,“txnb”:0}}
INFO: [down] PULL_ACK received in 90 ms

INFO: Received pkt from mote: 2602141D (fcnt=47)
payload size = 52
payload = QB0UAiaALwABuH7GIq1VqX/StG9oeMA83nVFS+b/VIQQdhFF+A==

JSON up: {“rxpk”:[{“tmst”:288042532,“chan”:7,“rfch”:1,“freq”:905.300000,“stat”:1,“modu”:“LORA”,“datr”:“SF7BW125”,“codr”:“4/5”,“lsnr”:9.0,“rssi”:-53,“size”:37,“data”:“QB0UAiaALwABuH7GIq1VqX/StG9oeMA83nVFS+b/VIQQdhFF+A==”}]}
INFO: [down] PULL_RESP received - token[0:19] :slight_smile:

JSON down: {“txpk”:{“imme”:false,“tmst”:289042532,“freq”:927.5,“rfch”:0,“powe”:17,“modu”:“LORA”,“datr”:“SF7BW500”,“codr”:“4/5”,“ipol”:true,“size”:22,“ncrc”:true,“data”:“YB0UAiaKMAADQAIAcQM6AP8Bu7eejw==”}}
ERROR: Packet REJECTED, unsupported RF power for TX - 17
INFO: [down] PULL_ACK received in 91 ms
INFO: [down] PULL_ACK received in 99 ms

Please download https://github.com/RAKWireless/rak_common_for_gateway/blob/master/lora/rak2245/lora_pkt_fwd.c and replace /opt/ttn-gateway/packet_forwarder/lora_pkt_fwd/src/lora_pkt_fwd.c.