Gateway software for RAK833-EVB

I bought RAK833-EVB (LoRa concentrator with WiFi OpenWRT board) before finding documentation for it. I was under assumption that software would be available to use it as a fully functional gateway since the hardware is very similar to DYI Outdoor, RAK7258.

Now, when I started playing with it, I can’t find any support documents showing how to make it work as a gateway - it shows only how to run simple tests. Seems like a waste of money and resources if I can’t do more with it.

Could you add support for this board to run the same gateway software as on DYI Outdoor and indoor gateways? It should not be a big effort to do since hardware differences that affect software look very minor. Or, could you publish the source code, so I could do the adaptations myself?

Hi, @roman

I’m sorry for it, but there is actually a fully open source project developed by RAK team for RAK833-EVB on Github:

In this project readme, you can find how to use it.

Thank you @Fomi .
Compiling OpenWRT from scratch takes forever. Is there a compiled binary (SPI interface version) somewhere for this project?

You need SPI interface version?
There already has a compiled binary on RAK website, but it is an USB interface version.
https://www.rakwireless.com/en/download/LoRa/RAK833-Pcie-Gateway#Firmware

I can compile a SPI interface version for you today. If done, i’ll updatec it on RAK website, and reply on this topic. Just wait for me.

I’m not completely clear on the difference between USB and SPI versions. Does the USB version require an external host computer to run packet forwarder and the SPI version runs the Packet Forwarder on RAK833-EVB standalone? If this is the case than, yes, I’d prefer to use the SPI version for single board gateway.

Thank you!

Hi, @roman

I see now. Actually, they both needn’t an external host computer.
The SPI or USB interface is the connect way between RAK833 module and MT7628 board.