Help Building an IoT Train Detector

Hello wonderful members of the RAK community! :wave: I live in the US near a railroad and I’m interested in building (or buying an existing solution) an IoT device to detect when a train is approaching. Please note that I have no IoT/sensor experience, so please go easy on me! :grimacing:

I intend to place the device near the train tracks roughly 3 miles from my home (outside) and would like the device to last 3+ years either via battery or battery + solar combination. As I’ll be unable to provide adequate LoRa coverage, I’ll probably need a cellular based solution (perhaps LTE-M or NB-IoT).

The WisBlock Lego-style IoT offering appeals to me as I know absolutely nothing about electronics (however, I can code).

Here is the RAX WisBlock parts list I’m considering so far (sorry for the junk links :cry: - new users can only have 2 links in a post):

• Waterproof case w/ built-in solar panel
  • Base board: store.rakwireless [dot] com/products/rak19007-wisblock-base-board-2nd-gen
    • The waterproof case is specifically designed to accommodate this board.
  • ESP32 compute module: store.rakwireless [dot] com/products/wiscore-esp32-module-rak11200
  • NB-IoT + LTE-M cellular module: store.rakwireless [dot] com/products/rak5860-lte-nb-iot-extension-board

Here are some questions I have:

1. I’m interested to know what sensor (RAX WisBlock Sensors) I should use to detect a passing train (a vibration detector? an accelerometer? a microphone [RAK18032]? an earthquake sensor [RAK12027]?). I’m leaning towards the microphone as the train is pretty loud (hopefully easy to detect) and that will avoid the need to mount anything to the train tracks themselves. However, I don’t know how much battery that approach will use. I’m not sure how sensitive the vibration/accelerometer sensors are - it is unclear to me if they would be able to detect a passing train if not mounted to the tracks.