How send Downlink through MQTT

Issue: How can I send Downlink to end device trough MQTT?

Setup: Gateway RAK 7258 - End Device SAMR34 Xplained

LoRa® Server: MQTT

Details:

Hello everybody !! I’m a beginner with LoRa and MQTT, and I’m not able to send a downlink to end device through my RAK7258 gateway. I configured end device and gateway and it connects and I could send uplinks normally, all packages arrive ok. But I’m trying to send a downlink and I don’t know how can I do this, what I need to configure in the gateway or in MQTT server. Someone can help me with what I need to do, where I can start to solve this? From now I’m thankful for any help.

What LoRaWAN server are you using?

Hi @nmcc, I’m using MQTT, with my private gateway.

MQTT is not a LoRaWan server but rather a communication scheme which could be used at at least two entirely distinct points in a system.

Where did you enter the details of your node? If you entered it into a web page on the gateway itself, you are probably using the built-in copy of LoRaServer which is an older version of what is now called Chirpstack. You can inject a downlink request to that via the same MQTT broker where you subscribe to the decoded data, you’d have to find and follow the relevant instructions.

If you have the gateway pointed at some other LoRaWan server (perhaps using the gateway MQTT bridge) then you’d have to follow the instructions appropriate to that server.

1 Like

@cstratton yes! I have used the RAK 7258 to create a Built-In LoraWAN Server (Private) in LoraWAN packet forwarder and in the Global Interaction option, I put the MQTT parameters. I can join to it and send uplinks from the device. But I want to send downlinks to the device and this step is not working. I’m trying to send directly from Gateway the downlink, and not works.

How exactly are you trying to send it?

Do you understand that a downlink can only be transmitted in response to an uplink from the node?