RAK2245 PiHat diagnostics?

My 2245 PiHat arrived two weeks ago, and I have not yet been able to get it to make a connection to The Things Network server.

Are there diagnostic programs that would test the 2245 to ensure that it is working correctly? The /opt/ttn-gateway/lora_gateway/util* programs don’t provide board diagnostics (and spectral_scan refuses to run, which leads me to believe there’s a hardware or fpga version issue).

I’m new to LoRa, so this might be an installation problem. Briefly:

• I’ve installed the 2245 on a Pi-3B+. I booted Buster on a USB-SSD drive in my first attempts in which I installed Chirpstack; I now boot Stretch from a µSD card that was imaged from RAK’s firmware repository.
  • I’ve installed Chirpstack on Raspbian Buster a couple of times with no success, so I gave that up and have been working on just the standard RAK image since then.
  • I’ve installed https://downloads.rakwireless.com/en/LoRa/RAK2245-Pi-HAT/Firmware/RAK2245%26RAK831_based_on_Raspbian_OS_for_RPI3_V4.1.0_20191202.zip a couple of times with no success, and that’s the system I’m focused on right now.
  • I used Version 1.0, May, 2019 of the installation guide for instructions.
  • I set my system up as a concentrator/gateway to the TTN network.
  • I configured for US frequencies on both the TTN network server and the gateway. I noted the ID reported by the RAK gateway-version and used it to provision the gateway on the TTN console.
  • The TTN network reports that it is connected to my gateway.
  • I created the application and device on the TTN console. Simulating packets up/down DO NOT get reported as traffic at the TTN console.
  • I have a Sparkfun SAMD21 Pro RF I’m using to send packets to the RAK gateway. Those packets are not seen by the TTN Console. I presume that they are not seen by the RAK hardware or software.