RAK4631 Helium OTAA join fail

Hello everyone,

Unfortunately I am not very experienced with Arduino or Wisblock devices and ran into an issue. I am using a RAK Helium Dev Kit for my project. I started based on the GPS Tracker example, and have been working through the details in Arduino IDE, getting the GPS and the BME680 environmental sensor data and using a Google Sheets integration via the Helium Console. It has worked as expected until yesterday when I upgraded the bootloader via the USB method on Windows following this guide. I did not see an issue immediately after upgrading, and it seemed more stable and worked fine. I powered off the PC and RAK at the end of the day.

Today, the board is no longer joining the Helium network and the “OTAA join failed” message appears on the serial console. There was no change in code that could cause the problem.

I can see the Join Request and Join Accept messages in the Helium console.

I am sure the keys are correct and there are Helium hotspots in range. I also have one, but the join messages are from another gateway nearby.

Here are the old and new versions I extracted from the info files before/after the upgrade:

Old (factory):

UF2 Bootloader 0.3.2-109-gd6b28e6-dirty lib/nrfx (v2.0.0) lib/tinyusb (0.6.0-272-g4e6aa0d8) lib/uf2 (heads/master)
Model: Adafruit Feather nRF52840 Express
Board-ID: nRF52840-Feather-revD
SoftDevice: S140 version 6.1.1
Date: Jun 16 2020

New installed 2022-01-31:

UF2 Bootloader 0.4.2 lib/nrfx (v2.0.0) lib/tinyusb (0.10.1-293-gaf8e5a90) lib/uf2 (remotes/origin/configupdate-9-gadbb8c7)
Model: WisBlock RAK4631 Board
Board-ID: WisBlock-RAK4631-Board
Date: Dec 1 2021
SoftDevice: S140 6.1.1

Thank you in advance for any suggestions.
Gabriel

Small addition: I tried a clean copy of the example GPS Tracker code (except for replacing the keys) on the board and it still failed the OTAA Join.