RAK5010 custom firmware best strategy

Hello everyone,

I’m new to RAK and in embedded systems in general, I want to build a GPS tracker that is configured through BLE & a web interface with:

• sleeping interval
  • activate/deactivate some sensors
  • activate/deactivate wake up interrupt on movement with sensitivity threshold
  • MQTT downlink (BG96 URC) should trigger a fonction to update the tracker settings
  • activate BLE only when user button is pressed

Can a customized RAK firmware with the RUI API do that?

If not, which “low-power device” firmware would you recommend?

• Does the Arduino firmware support the same power-saving sleep mode?
  • Is the RAK5010 compatible with Zephyr RTOS? I’ve seen it supports nRF52840-PCA10056
  • Is Espruino a better fit with Javascript event-loop for this kind of project?

Thank you very much

Hi, you can refer our develop guide:
https://doc.rakwireless.com/developer-tools/developer-tools/-

Hi Nero, thanks for your time and happy new year!

I’ve some questions regarding the RUI API that might interest other people too:

1. Is it possible to wake up with the RING pin when there is an SMS / MQTT message in the downlink while the device is sleeping? coud you please post an example of that?

2. Is the function rui_cellular_register_recv_callback used to handle URC messages coming from MQTT / SMS? could you please post an example of that?

3. Is there a way to change the behavior of the Power Button like this?

• Short press = activate BLE (for configuration)
  • Long press = reboot
  1. Is the source code of the RUI API available online? so I might ask less questions…

Thanks for your help

PS: here is a flowchart of what I want to accomplish, please let me know if it’s not possible with RUI API:

Q1:If it is sleep, bg96 will power down. So it need external interrupt to wake up or creat a timer. And I am not clear what RING pin mean?