RUI I2c mosture connection

Hello,

I currently making some test with RAK5205 with the mosture detector in I2C

I have write a mokeup with RUI to read the data based on your example.

When I try to just do a write to reset the device, I receive a error code 6, also If I try to read it.

I’m a newbie with i2c, so any tips or help is welcome

Hi @litbos , Welcome to RAK forum :slight_smile:

I had a quick check on your code and I saw that the length is zero. That should be some value depending on the size of data you transmit

I know you are working with RAK5205 but I suggest to make it work first with RAK811. A simple I2C demo is here - Products_practice_based_on_RUI_v2.0/app_RAK811.c at master · RAKWireless/Products_practice_based_on_RUI_v2.0 · GitHub

This way, it won’t have any conflict on the other sensors. If you make it work now on RAK811 alone, then you can integrate it into your RAK5205 code.

Study the RAK811 I2C demo code and see how you can implement the Arduino code from the github repo you shared - GitHub - Miceuz/i2c-moisture-sensor: I2C based soil moisture sensor to the RUI.

Hello.

Thanks for your response. I was finally able to read. But write is still difficul. I still receive code 6.
I set 0 as length because the sensor juste require a write on the register that’s all. It for a reset

Do you have an exemple of a write without value ?

Thanks

Ps: I have update my fork with running code except write

Hi @litbos ,

I see your code. Sadly, we do not have RUI API that can cover your requirement of writing only on the address of the device but not on a specific register address. If you need the reset command and very critical on your application, doing via RUI might not be the best solution.

It’s a bit weird doing a write to a register without having any data, so I can’t say I’m surprised there isn’t an RUI command that supports that instance - I’ve run up against similar in the past.