Sending data between 2 Rak4630

Hey, I’m really new to this Lora,rak,etc thing and currently I was able to start my first project ,which is sending some that from rak4630 to the TTN and i was able to complete that,some steps forward and now I’m able to visualize that data on DataCake and also having it on a MySqlDB.

Issue:Now my question is how can I,while reading the data from the sensors and sending it to a gateway (using rak4630), send a number being it 1 OR 0 to another rak4630 (

basically:

rak4630(1)-->gateway;
        rak4630(1)-->rak4630(2);
        rak4630(2)-->gateway

) ,so if i get a read on the sensors between X and Y i want to send to the other board that 1 or 0 and at the same time this board must send also some readings to the gateway.

Setup:wisgate edge lite 2, 2 rak4631 and some sensors

Welcome to RAK forum @Vasco ,

The way I understand it, you need to configure your RAK4630 as LoRaWAN End-Device and LoRa P2P. This is not possible simultaneously. You have to choose if you are going to act as a LoRaWAN End-Device or as a LoRa P2P TX/RX node, one at a time.

This is not impossible to do but you have to do some firmware tricks to accomplish this requirement. Some points you need to consider.

• You have to restart the module if you need to switch mode from LoRaWAN to LoRa P2P.
  • You can perform software reset.
  • You can store some states in flash if you need but likely you will a non-volatile memory with high life/endurance. Since if you switch mode, you might need to store some states or conditions.
  • You might need some clock/timing to synchronize the modules when to act as LoRaWAN end-device and when to act as LoRa P2P TX/RX node.
  • You need to consider memory space use since you will compile both LoRa P2P and LoRaWAN stack in a single device.

I haven’t done this though so I will look forward on how you’ll do it.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply @carlrowan ,