Error compiling for board WisBlock Core RAK4631 Board

Hi po. I hope everyone is well.

Newbie here…

I’ve been exploring the RAK4631 Core board with RAK4630 module. I tried to load a simple code I got from the internet, however, I’ve been encountering an error – it never compiles. I’ve been getting, “Error compiling for board WisBlock Core RAK4631 Board”. I already took some steps to resolve this problem but the error still persists.

I’m just hope someone could help me with this?

Thank you!

Here’s my sample code:

#include <Arduino.h>
#include <Adafruit_TinyUSB.h>

void setup() {
  // put your setup code here, to run once:
  Serial.begin(115200);
  pinMode(LED_BLUE, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(LED_BLUE, HIGH);
}

void loop() {
  // put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
  digitalWrite(LED_BLUE, HIGH);
  delay(1000);
  digitalWrite(LED_BLUE, LOW);
  delay(1000);
  Serial.println("Hello! I'm Alive");
  }

Hello @adellagas

Are you compiling on Arduino IDE or with PlatformIO on Visual Studio Code?

If PIO, you need to add the RAK4631 to the platform, we have a guide and a quick patch batch in our WisBlock repo.

Hello Sir @beegee I’m compiling on Arduino IDE. I noticed there’s no “RAKwireless RUI nRF Boards” available, is that possible the problem???

Hello,
You need to install the BSP first, here is the guide

Hello again @beegee

Based on RAK4631’s guide (RAK4630 Module Quick Start Guide | RAKwireless Documentation Center) I should install the “RAKwireless RUI nRF Boards” under Boards Manager. But, upon checking there’s no “RAKwireless RUI nRF Boards”. See attached pic:

Is there other way I could install this board?

Thank you so much for the help

There are two different BSP because there are two different versions of the RAK4631:

RAK4631
Open source BSP, that are the ones you installed.
LoRa/LoRaWAN support with open source library SX126x-Arduino

RAK4631-R
RAKwireless developed BSP called RUI3, not open source.
Built-in LoRa/LoRaWAN support.