RAK2270 Development Kit

Ken Yu replied to one of my Linkedin posts here about the possibility of a RAK2270 Development Kit!

@carlrowan Can we talk about it before it gets launched? (I am not sure about ken’s or Jose hashtag on this site perhaps you can add them.)

As a teacher I would probably order 10 barebones RAK2270 boards without the batteries as shown in the kit. That would be awesome. I would probably order about 3 full kits as I don’t really need the rig and really don’t need 15 rigs, but understand that other teacher’s might want the class set.

What would really be interesting is the barebones board with the IMU and a GNSS (GPS) I see that the board has spots for a few more components. Does anyone know what those spots are for and how to purchase the chips? That would be a really exciting project for my students to get GPS working with theses boards. Even soldering the chips to the boards would be a great project.

Reminder there is a long community discussion about the RAK2270 Sticker Tracker here

I have already got machine learning working with the RAK2270StickerTracker for IMU motion x,y,z but the memory constraints make it only able to do P2P LoRa not full LoRaWan yet. I am still working on this so it is not yet ready for others.

I am part of the tinyML4D admin group and would really like to start using this product with some developing country universities but it is not really ready yet. Also difficult to get everything working on windows but it works great on linux.

Any thoughts about the two (yellow line) locations in the image above and how to get chips that would connect with those locations and possibly work without any/many changes to the bootloader.

Hi @jerteach ,I’m a software development engineer, I’m glad you like this product. Made some marks in the picture explaining the model of the chip.

2 Likes

This is the datasheet of the chip, currently our firmware does not have these features, so there is no welding.

SHTC3.pdf (777.6 KB)